SWAPO United, SWAPO Victorious, Now hard work...

Get Involved

Sign Up Donate Networking Have Your Say

Join my SWAPO online community, to share your vision of a better Namibia, participate in discussion forums, and receive regular updates by e-mail.Make your voice heard: Tell the world about your views and suggestions. Write to newspapers, call in to talk shows, share your experiences of the first fifteen years of freedom, and how working together we can do more.


Who nominated who?

Question: Iam writing this letter just to seek clarification on certain issues which were brought to our attention as delegates to the SWAPO Party Congress this month. We are in disagreements on certain issues.

The sooner these issues are cleared, the better we are informed correctly.

We were told recently that as delegates to the Congress, we should "unite and vote" for the current SWAPO Party Vice President, Cde Hage Geingob, because he was asked to stand or nominated by Founding President, Dr Sam Nujoma, and seconded by SWAPO Party President, Dr Hifikepunye Pohamba. Can you please tell us what the position is with regard to who appointed who?

We just want to know the truth
From Freedom Fighter, Okahao.

Answer: That question has repeatedly been asked by many people. We have noticed that somewhere somehow, people are being deliberately misinformed by campaign managers of various candidates. Of course all the candidates wish to enhance their chances, which is democratic enough. Things only go wrong when the candidates start spreading rumours to enhance their chances.

To answer your question, there are three candidates contesting the Vice Presidency. These are incumbent Cde Geingob, SWAPO Party Secretary General, Cde Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana, and SWAPO Party Secretary for Information and Mobilization, Cde Jerry Ekandjo.

Cde Geingob was neither nominated, nor seconded. As the sitting Vice President, he did not need nomination. He automatically qualified to stand. President Pohamba has made this point very clear on several occasions. So did Presidential Affairs Minister, Cde Albert Kawana. Founding President Nujoma neither sits in the Politburo, nor in the Central Committee meetings.

So, there is no way that Cde Geingob could have been nominated by Dr Nujoma and seconded by Dr Pohamba. Whoever spreads such stories is lying. Cde Iivula-Ithana was nominated by Cde Utoni Nujoma, and seconded by Cde Saara Kuugongelwa- Amadhila at the Politburo meeting. Cde Ekandjo was nominated by Cde Elijah Ngurare, SPYL Secretary, and seconded by several people at the Central Committee meeting. That is what the situation is now.
Editor's Desk.


SWAPO Headquarters Mandume Strt
Windhoek, Katutura